top of page
Search
gaiiaventurini

Cutting the Song

An issue I will be facing is the fact that my song includes a few swear words. As the exam board doesn't allow this, I will have to remove the words. Luckily, they are only towards the end of the song, therefore, (instead of having to bock out words) I can simply make the song a bit shorter.


To do this, when it will come to editing the video, I will be cutting the song and ending it with a fade-out.


The fade-out is a way of ending a song with a steady decline in volume in the final few seconds. In 1985, the top 10 songs of the year didn't include even one 'cold ending' (a song that simply cuts off/ finishes with the lyrics ending). It gained popularity in the 50s and was common for many decades, however, ever since the 90s/2000s 'the fade-out' had a downfall and slowly became less and less used.

I did some research on how to achieve the best results when making a fade-out. Ideally (to have the smoothest results) it is ideal to set the fade-out at five seconds. In these five seconds, the audio should go down at a slow, constant speed.


Here is an example of how I would do this using VideoPad:





First I will go to sound effects, then click fade-out.




After this, I will select the option for the fade-out and set it to 5 seconds.




It will then look something like this - with the sound decreasing at the same rate.















4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page