top of page
Search
  • gaiiaventurini

Final Focus Group

Updated: Apr 2, 2022

A focus group is a group interview involving a small number of demographically similar people. Their reactions to specific questions are then studied.


My final focus group aims to find out what my audience thought of my finished video and digipak. I gathered some people from my target audience and asked them a few questions about what their opinions are on my work. I filmed and edited the discussion - you can see the embedded YouTube video below:

A few things I have learned from this discussion:

  • Many people enjoyed the style of the old camera.

  • The basketball shots were very popular (even among other people that saw my video). The more creative shots such as the one from above on the basketball court and the one from below of the actors dancing were really liked.

  • People also liked the ending with the record player as it transitioned the fade-out really smoothly.

  • I managed to capture the correct 'energy'/ aesthetic of the song into my music video.


What I might do differently next time:

  • I need to pay more attention to the colour schemes/ keep them consistent. One of the girls pointed out that the last few shots had a warmer colour palette meanwhile the rest of the video has a colder palette which didn't fit that well with the rest of the video.

  • They said "I don't know why you did that but I loved it" talking about the cooking scene. I realised maybe the narrative was too abstract and caused a bit of confusion. Maybe next time I should have a clearer narrative or not have so much of a drastic change between shots. For example, instead of going from the basketball shots to metro shot to the cooking scene, I could have filmed them going home or hanging out in the house before hand.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

©2021 by GV RECORDS

bottom of page