top of page
Search
  • gaiiaventurini

If my music video was played on MTV in 1996...

'Kabel' was the famous font used for MTVs music video credit tags from 1981 to 2006.

Hi-tech dropped his single in 1996 (when the credit tags still looked like this) so I thought it would be interesting to experiment and see how it would have looked like.



These are some examples of what it looked like:



I found this 'package' that created the tag for you, however, it only works with Final Cut Pro and I don't have this so I had to look for another way. Furthermore, this package isn't entirely accurate as it doesn't have the black outline/shadow around the text

I went on a few forums to see if anyone knew where I could find the original font MTV used but still I had no luck.

Eventually, through researching, I found the font and downloaded it to my computer.

I downloaded it and wrote out the credits the same way MTV laid them out. To add the shadow I layered white text over black text and moved the white text slightly to the left to reveal the edges of the black text.


FINAL OUTCOME:



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

©2021 by GV RECORDS

bottom of page