top of page
Search
gaiiaventurini

Making a Logo + Final Logo

Updated: Mar 23, 2022

One of the first things I will be doing to start my process is creating a logo for my record company, GV RECORDS.


I have looked at a few record company logos and picked out three that I really liked:



Capitol Records is an American record label owned by Universal Music Group. It was founded in 1942. Some artists they have signed include The Beatles, Mary J.Blige and the Beastie Boys.

What caught my eye with this logo was the use of multiple fonts. I think that the loose (but bold) lettering of the 'capitol' works really well with the spaced-out, all capital lettering of 'records'. I also think that the drawing is placed really well and balances out the whole logo and that the oval outline ties everything together perfectly.

Death Row Records was a record label started by Dr. Dre, Suge Knight, The D.O.C. and Dick Griffey in 1992. They signed many artists such as Dre, Snoop Dogg and Tupac Shakur. It has been inoperative since 2008.

With this logo I really liked the curved lettering of the words 'Death Row' combined with the straight lettering of 'records'. I think that what distinguishes this logo from many others is also the big drawing included in the centre. The style of this drawing is very cartoonish and unique and fits really well with the choice of font. I think that it is just simple enough to work really well as a logo but also gives it an interesting look.

Jive Records was founded by Clive Calder in 1981. They signed artists including A Tribe Called Quest, NSYNC and Britney Spears. It has been inactive since 2011.

This logo differs a bit from the others as it is much more minimalistic. They didn't choose to include a drawing, however, the design behind the name, 'JIVE', is more intricate. I like the boldness of the letters and the rhombus shape of the logo. It has an almost geometric look to it which is really appealing to the eye.


From looking at these logos, a few things I'd like to include are curved typography, possibly an outlining shape, a mix of typographies and maybe a small image.




I first looked up a logo generator and came across a branding platform called Tailor Brands. The process of creating my logo with this platform included:

  • entering my record company name

  • entering my industry

  • choosing a logo type

  • choosing three styles of typography



After I did this I recieved a few options for me to choose from and I narrowed it down to these two logos you can see here. I ended up picking just the 'GR' logo. However, I wasn't very convinced by it. I didn't really like that it said 'GR' and I thought that 'GV' would be more suitable and I also didn't think the logo was eye-catching enough due to the simple lettering. I had to then look for another option.



I tried looking at a few more logo generators however I didn't find anything that I truly liked, therefore, I reached the conclusion that making it myself from scratch would be the best option.




I began by drawing out a couple of options. I decided to try out two different types of curved fonts.





I then scanned both logos and edited it/ added some filters for the black to be completely opaque.












After that, I had to make the edges smoother since you can still tell it has been drawn on paper. I did this using photoshop.









I decided to go for the first option since I think it has a cleaner and more interesting look.


After this, I added the 'RECORDS' part however I didn't want to draw this out so instead I tried out different fonts to see which worked best.








Out of these fonts I like the second one the most but I thought it seemed too long so I compressed it a bit. Like this:


Here are a few experiments I made also looking at different shapes to outline the logo.





The Final Logo...


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page