top of page
Search
gaiiaventurini

Super Nintendo/ Street Fighter - Research

Updated: Mar 23, 2022


Looking at Biggie's video for "Juicy", I was really inspired by this shot where a few guys were video games. I found out later that one of the actors owned a video game console from the early 90s so I immediately decided I was going to include it in my music video. I want to create a similar shot - with people playing games and close-ups of the gamepad and video game (TV).

Looking closer, I saw that they were playing Street Fighter. I also want the actors in my music video to be playing this game, however, I wanted to do some quick research on the Super Nintendo and Street Fighter before making any firm decisions.



The Super Nintendo (or SNES) reached peak popularity in the 90s. In its lifespan, almost 50 million units of it were sold. Its popularity is due to having one of the best game selections out of any other console. It competed against Sega Genesis which dominated 65% of the 16-bit console market in 1992. For 4 years it outsold the SNES due to its lower price point and larger game assortments, however, the SNES surpassed Genesis in sales due to its higher resolution and higher amount of colours that could be displayed.


In my music video, I will be including the Super Nintendo.


Street Fighter is a Japanese fighting video game first released in 1987. It is one of the highest-grossing video game franchises of all time, selling 47 million units worldwide as of last year. It was also extremely popular during the 90s and as you can see, it is even included in one of Biggie's music videos. I will be including it in my music video as a reference to the 90s and his music video.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page